The IEEE Council on Superconductivity Awards in the Field of Applied Superconductivity (2013)

The Council on Superconductivity of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has established three career achievement awards to recognize researchers, engineers and managers, who during their professional careers, have made outstanding contributions to the field of applied superconductivity. The Awards for 2013 were presented during the Opening Plenary Session on 15 July 2013 during the 23rd International Conference on Magnet Technology (MT-23) in Boston MA 3 and during the Opening Plenary Session on 8 July 2013 during the 2013 International Superconductor Electronics Conference (ISEC 2013) in Cambridge MA. For detailed description of these Awards and the nomination process please go to: IEEE CSC Awards

Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions in the Field of Applied Superconductivity

Stony Brook University
For significant and sustained contributions in the field of superconductor digital electronic technology, in particular:
  • for playing a major role in the invention and development of Rapid Single Flux Quantum (RSFQ) digital logic family based on processing of single flux quanta in Josephson junction circuits,
  • for his work in developing superconductor analog to digital and digital to analog converters,
  • for his effort in development and experimental demonstration of physically reversible superconducting circuits with ultimately low power dissipation, and,
  • for mentoring a significant number of the current generation of superconductor digital circuit designers.

Plasma Science and Fusion Center Massachusetts Institute of Technology
For continuing and significant contributions in the field of large scale applications of superconductivity, in particular,
  • for his contributions to numerous magnet systems for fusion energy, magnetic levitation, energy storage,  power generation and transmission,  magnetic separation, high energy and nuclear physics, medical applications, and,
  • for his contributions as the U. S. Principal Investigator for the International  Reactor (ITER) project which resulted in the design, fabrication and testing of the Central Solenoid  Model Coil, then the world's largest and most powerful  pulsed superconducting magnet.

CERN and University of Twente
For continuous and significant contributions in the field of Large Scale Applications of Superconductivity, in particular for:
  • his pioneering work in the construction of the first full-size accelerator dipole magnet employing Nb3Sn wire, operating above 11 tesla;
  • his technical and managerial leadership in the design, construction, commissioning and operation of the ATLAS Superconducting Magnet System, and,
  • training numerous young engineers and scientists on technical superconductors and application in magnet systems.

IEEE Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community

Commissariat à l'Energy Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives (CEA)
For sustained service to the applied superconductivity community that has a lasting influence on the advancement of the technology, in particular:
  • for promotion and leadership in the development of many large scale superconducting magnet systems, such as Tore-Supra, LHC and ITER, and for directing research for the next generation devices beyond LHCand ITER, and,
  • for chairing numerous committees for promoting academic research and organizing workshops related to applied superconductivity and large scale superconducting magnets.