You are here

    • You are here:
    • Home > Meet the Distinguished Lecturers

Meet the Distinguished Lecturers

Meet the Distinguished Lecturers

The Council’s Distinguished Lecturer is available to provide a seminar or lecture at your institution. To request a lecture, click here.

Distinguished Lecturer: Jeff Tallon

Dr. Jeff Tallon CNZM, FRSNZ, HonFIPENZ is Senior Principal Scientist at Robinson Research Institute, Victoria University of Wellington and, until recently, was concurrently Professor of Physics at Victoria University. He is internationally known for his research and discoveries in high-Tc superconductors (HTS), both fundamental and applied, leading to commercialization through the company HTS-110 Ltd. With colleagues he secured European and US patents for Bi2Sr2Ca2Cu3O10 and a number of other HTS and over the past 25 years has led research in materials science, processing, flux pinning, novel superconducting materials and wire development. His more fundamental studies have focused on thermodynamics, magnetism, spectroscopy and electronic transport properties of HTS; especially in elucidating the phenomenology and nature of the once mysterious pseudogap that competes with superconductivity and which imposes severe limits on critical currents and critical fields. Dr Tallon’s other research interests include nanotechnology, hybrid organic/inorganic materials, spin crossover materials and physics at high pressure. He has received many awards for his work, including the Rutherford Medal, the Dan Walls Medal for Physics and the inaugural New Zealand Prime Minister’s Science Medal for commercialization of fundamental science. Dr Tallon has been a frequent Visiting Professor at Cambridge University and a Visiting Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge. He has published nearly 300 papers, with a Hirsch index of 50 and total citation close to 10,000. HTS-110 manufactures magnets, NMR systems, ion-implantation equipment, current leads and coils for motors and generators – all based on HTS technology.

Distinguished Lecturer: Horst Rogalla

Dr. Horst Rogalla was appointed as an IEEE CSC Distinguished Lecturer in 2013.  Dr. Rogalla was born in Germany in 1947, studied physics and mathematics in Münster and did his habilitation in Giessen, both in Germany. After 2 years in the group of Prof. Tinkham in Harvard, he accepted in 1987 a professorship in Low Temperature Physics at the University of Twente in the Netherlands from which he retired recently.

In his time at the University of Twente he was Director of the Material Science Institute CMO for a number of years and a founding member of the MESA+ micro-/nano-technology institute. In the European Community he was member of the board of the Network of Excellence in Superconductivity SCENET and director of the European Network PiShift. He was founding member of the European Society of Applied Superconductivity ESAS and the European Foundry Network FLUXONICS. He also organized  major conferences in Superconductivity and Superconducting Electronics and many national and international workshops. Currently he is Research Professor at the University of Colorado and scientist at NIST.

In his scientific carrier, he worked on the materials properties of superconductors, their deposition as thin films and their application in Superconducting Electronics. Before the finding of High Temperature Superconductivity (HTS), he worked on the application of Nb3Ge nanobridge Josephson-junctions in Superconducting Electronics operated in liquid hydrogen. After the finding of HTS, he invented the HTS ramp-type Josephson junction and developed with his co-workers in Twente an HTS integration technique, which allowed to realize superconducting circuits with up to 4 superconducting layers. This technique was successfully applied to HTS Superconducting Electronics devices. Later on he was involved among others in the development of s-d-wave Josephson junctions based on Nb/YBCO ramp-type junctions, which allowed to realize and apply π- Josephson junctions, in the development of integrated micro-coolers and the application of Nb-based Josephson junctions in highly sensitive magnetic sensors for biomagnetism and gravitation wave detectors.

Currently he is working on noise thermometry using normal and superconducting electronics and also on arrays of YBCO split-ring resonators for cloaking applications.

He is member of the IEEE since many years and received in 2011 the The IEEE Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community. In 2013 he was awarded an honorary life-time voting membership of the board of the European Society of Applied Superconductivity ESAS.