David Pines Symposium on Superconductivity Today & Tomorrow


A Celebration of the life and work of David Pines.

We have contacted and confirmed the speakers for this meeting. We chose to bring here some of the leading theorists and experimentalists in the field (both young and not as young) as well as people who will speak about some other areas of David’s (many) areas of interest. They are:

  • Peter Abbamonte (Illinois)
  • Gordon Baym (Illinois)
  • Erez Berg (Weizman Institute)
  • Piers Coleman (Rutgers)
  • Nick Curro (UC Davis)
  • Rafael Fernandes (Minnesota)
  • Laura Greene (National High Magnetic Field Lab)
  • Catherine Kallin (McMaster)
  • Steven Kivelson (Stanford)
  • Patrick Lee (MIT)
  • Tony Leggett (Illinois)
  • Gil Lonzarich (Cambridge)
  • Andrew Millis (Columbia)
  • Mike Norman (Argonne)
  • Christopher Pethick (Niels Bohr Institute/NORDITA)
  • Douglas Scalapino (UC Santa Barbara)
  • T. Senthil (MIT)
  • Joe Thompson (Los Alamos)
  • Dale Van Harlingen (Illinois)
  • Chandra Varma (UC Riverside/UC Berkeley)

Date & Time

Fri, March 29, 2019 –
Sat, March 30, 2019

Add to calendar


Institute for Condensed Matter Theory

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign Urbana, IL

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign Urbana, IL