Van Duzer Prize Award

To recognize the best-contributed paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity during one volume year. The award is named in honor of Professor Ted Van Duzer, first Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity. 

Historical Background:

The award is named in honor of Professor Theodore Van Duzer, founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity. Professor Van Duzer (M'60-SM'75-F'77-LF'93) received the Ph.D. degree from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1960. He has been on the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, since 1961. He is co-author of two textbooks, Principles of Superconductive Devices and Circuits, and Fields and Waves in Communication Electronics, and has published widely in the research literature on superconductor electronics. His current research interests focus on Josephson devices and multi-gigahertz digital superconductor circuits, including hybrids with cryogenic semiconductor components. Dr. Van Duzer is a Life Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.

$1,000 and Certificate. For papers with multiple authors, the honorarium shall be divided equally.
Funded by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity
At a scientific conference, such as the Applied Superconductivity Conference, during an award ceremony sponsored by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity. There are other conferences during the odd-numbered years. They are smaller. Different specialties attend different conferences. The award will be presented at a conference, which the author would normally attend.
Basis for Judging:
Papers will be scored on the following criteria: 1) Expectation that the paper will be highly cited by future authors (40 points); 2) Technical excellence of the work described (35 points), and 3) Completeness of the paper as an archival record of a finished body of research (25 points). The winner must be approved by a majority vote of the Award Committee.
All papers published as regular contributions during a volume year (March-December issues) are eligible. The award is restricted to regular submissions to encourage authors to prepare well-written and comprehensive contributions, which may have archival value and are likely to be cited frequently by other authors. Papers submitted for publication through scientific conferences such as the Applied Superconductivity and the International Conference on Magnet Technology are not eligible.
Nomination Details:

Candidates for the Prize are nominated by the Editors of the Transactions and judged by the Editor in Chief. 

Christine Annette Donnelly, Nathan E. Flowers-Jacobs, Justus A. Brevik, Anna E. Fox, Paul D. Dresselhaus, Peter Hopkins, and Samuel Benz

Keerthi Raj Kunniyoor, Thomas Richter, Parthasarathi Ghosh, Ralph Lietzow, Sonja Schlachter, and Holger Neumann

Jay M. Gambetta, Conal E. Murray, Y.-K.-K. Fung, Douglas T. McClure, Oliver Dial, William Shanks, Jeffrey W. Sleight, and Matthias Steffen

Samuel Benz, Anna E. Fox, Paul D. Dresselhaus, Alain Rüfenacht, Jason M. Underwood, Robert E. Schwall, Charles J. Burroughs, Jr., Steven B. Waltman, and Logan A. Howe

Sasha Ishmael, Frank Hunte, X. T. Liu, Haojun Luo, John F. Muth, Golsa Naderi, Justin Schwartz, Liyang Ye, Andrew T. Hunt, Natalia Mandzy, and Marvis White

Nicolas Hadacek, Paul D. Dresselhaus, and Samuel Benz

Lei Yu, Nate Newman, Theodore Van Duzer, and John M. Rowell